30 Days of Submission: #1

I have been searching for BDSM related journal prompts for those days when I’m brain fried and/or feeling less than creative. Today, I stumbled across 30 Days of Submission and I’m going to be giving that a go. These questions will be addressed in order but will not be answered in successive days.

1) Does your submission – either what you practice or what you strive for – have a label? Do you view your submission as Taken in Hand, domestic discipline, top/bottom, dominant/submissive, master/slave, owner/pet, or some other description or combination? If you do not use a label, why?

I need to be careful answering this because how my Master and I define our relationship can be a challenge for some to understand. Rather than answering outright, I’m going to, first, offer a brief run down of these label sets as succinctly explained by my Master.

Top/bottom: Power exchange based physically
Dominant/submissive: Power exchange based physically and emotionally
Master/slave: Power exchange based on a spiritual bond

Each “step” of these label sets are an increase in intensity both in the interaction and the bond between the people involved. As regular readers of INA know, my bond with my Master is unlike any I have ever had in my life. We are Master/slave.

I resisted this label “slave” for quite a while. I saw myself as His submissive. Being submissive is what I had wanted for a very long time. I struggled with the implications of the word and the connotations associated with it. I had read about slaves and how much control they relinquish to their Masters. I could not understand anyone giving up all of those choices. I am furiously independent. I run my household. No one tells me what to do. I will submit at His feet. I will not submit outside of His presence. I did not understand – could not understand at that time.

My bond with my Master has grown. Our connection is inexplicably deep. We are life mates. I have done things with Him and for Him that I could not have imagined just a year ago. More than one of these things I would have vehemently stated that I would “never” do. I would have said they were deal breakers.

These things I do for Him, I do only for Him. Because it brings Him joy. Because He is my heart divorced from my body. Because it can be no other way. Because He owns not only my body but my spirit. Because I am His slave.

5 thoughts on “30 Days of Submission: #1

  1. i started out much in the same way as you did with your Master. As i started out as my Master’s submissive because i couldn’t understand the concept either much like you. i can honestly say today that i am my Master’s slave. i do things also that i never thought i would do because it brings Him such joy.

Please offer your thoughts

