Energy

I was sitting in my customary location at practice this evening. I brought a book and was making a conscious effort not to make eye contact with anyone. I didn’t want to talk. I just wanted to read quietly for a bit.

I saw a pair of legs in my field of vision. I waited for them to walk away. They didn’t. I looked up and saw a gentleman I did not recognize. He asked if the seat next to me on the bleachers was taken. To be fair it was a crowded practice. There really weren’t very many places to sit. I replied that it was free and he sat. I went back to my book.

He wanted to chat, this man whom I’d never seen before. I was extremely annoyed. I did not want to expend the significant effort it takes for me to talk to someone I don’t know. Small talk is intensely difficult for me. All I wanted was quiet. He was having none of it.

We chatted about the athlete that he came with and about events connected to the team that were happening in the area. He hinted that he wanted my email address. I pretended not to hear. He introduced himself and apologized for talking so much. A short time later, DH came in.

DH and I greeted each other as we always do. We sat and I assisted him with his brace. Fred, his name turned out to be, looked over at the two of us and said “Do you mind if I ask how you two stay together?” I blinked once or twice and said “Intent. You must both make the decision to be together. You have to take the option of NOT being together off the table.” He thought about this for a moment or two and thanked me profusely.

At this point DH started in with where he would be if I was not in his life and how I changed his path. Fred looked at him and held up a hand in cessation. “I understand your point of view. I wanted to hear it from her.” The two of them, one on either side of me, began talking about DH’s injury and how it occurred and progressed from there to proper weight lifting technique. Fred looked at me and said “Don’t mind us. This is man-talk.” I’m sure you know how that was received.

Zero to sixty. That’s how. I looked at DH and said “He did NOT just say that to me” DH came to my defense and told Fred of my weight loss. Fred looked at me and began a lengthy conversation about how I did it and what made me do it and how could he get his lady to do it. He went on to ask me for all sorts of advice about all sorts of things and all I could think was For pity’s sake …even here I’m an alpha.

………………………………….
Today I’m grateful for: patience
Today’s funny moment: “Thanks for the vote of confidence, Mom!”
Training: 1.5 hours
Water: 16oz
Corset: am 26.5, pm 24

Please offer your thoughts

