Sweet Surrender

I yoinked this topic from thegirlpashn because I have a different take on it. It got me thinking and here we are.

Do you see a difference between submission and surrender? 

Let’s start with the formal definitions:
Submission –  1. a. The act of submitting to the power of another.
b. The state of having submitted.
2. The state of being submissive or compliant; meekness.

Surrendera : to yield to the power, control, or possession of another upon compulsion or demand <surrendered the fort>
b : to give up completely or agree to forgo especially in favor of another

Alright, so, looking at these two definitions we can see parallels. It could be argued that they are, in fact, synonyms. I would argue that I can submit without surrendering.

When I submit, I still have some control in the form of safe words. I’m going to go out on a limb, though I have no data to back it up, and say this is how most D/s dynamics work. The D-type has the illusion of control and the s-type can put a halt to anything they can’t handle by safe wording. My Master and I often play with this dynamic in place.

I have also offered myself in surrender. My Master and I have the occasional day where We push each other to grow and to strengthen Our bond. On these days I do not have safe words.***

When I walk into Our play space on these days, I entrust my life to my Master completely. I surrender everything I am to Him, including all control, absolutely. I trust that He will not harm me. I trust that He will push hard and know when I’ve had just the other side of enough. I trust He will not set me up to fail. I trust that when I am spent and have nothing left to give, that He will care for me as the treasured possession I am.

***DO NOT TRY THIS AT HOME. I would strongly advise against play of this form. It works for my Master and I. We are the exception. We have more than 1000 hours of communication logged, as well as several play sessions of nothing but tolerance bench marks. Additionally, my Master has roughly 30 years of experience. Seriously, don’t do it.

……………………………………………..
Today I am grateful for: You
Today’s funny moment: Finally hearing back from the munch guy “Is this the only way to meet you? What goes on at these things?”
Training: 2 hours
Water: 16 oz
Corset: am, 26.5″ – pm 25″

Please offer your thoughts

