TMI Tuesday: Will You Marry Me?

1. Do you believe in marriage?
Yes. It is not for the faint of heart and it takes an enormous amount of work. Too many people think that planning the wedding is the hardest part … they are so very wrong.

2. Have you ever proposed marriage or been proposed to marry? What happened?
I said no.
I said no.
I said yes and married him.

3. What would be your dream way of proposing marriage?
Since I’m a female who holds with gender tradition as far as marriage proposals, I’m going to swap this around and say “What is your dream proposal?” I have always been a huge fan of over the top wedding proposals. I adore surprises. I especially love it when they are a big production with enormous amounts of forethought and planning like this and this.

4. What would be your nightmarish way of proposing marriage?
Again, with the perspective flip … having an engagement ring tossed into my lap while watching TV on the couch. “Here, I thought you might want this.”

5. Mainstream society has engagement rings; in your opinion, what token should be given to signify engagement?
I’m a traditionalist when it comes to the engagement ring. I am not traditional with the stones, however. I’ve never understood the allure of diamonds. I think there are far prettier stones out there. If I have to wear a ring for the rest of my life then it should be something I want, not something dictated by society. (Yes, I do see the contradiction in those statements.)

6. What do you think would have happened to cause someone to have “Will you marry me?” on the back of their caravan?
I’m sure it was someone’s idea of a creative proposal. After the big day they decided to leave it there.

Bonus: Tell us about someone you would have proposed to but never had the chance/opportunity.
I would have proposed to him without hesitation. He did not want children. I left him instead.

See who else is playing here.

Please offer your thoughts

