Of mascara and sea urchins

I did a dry run of my halloween makeup tonight so I would know how much time to allow on Saturday. The makeup took a full hour. I’m also not at all happy with how it turned out. I was more than a little heavy handed trying to match one of her pics from the 80s. I think if I tone it back a bit I can be completely ready in an hour, costume included. If I apply the tattoos early in the day I won’t have to waste time waiting on them to dry that night.

Thanks to Youtube tutorials (what ever did we do before the internet?) I was able to style the wig pretty well, if I do say so myself. It no longer looks like a giant sea urchin has come to perch on my head. It actually looks similar to how she wore it. I’m anxious to put the full look together. I didn’t do it tonight because, if logistics allow, I’d like all of Us to have the enjoyment of getting ready together. It won’t be as much fun if I know what I’ll look like ahead of time. Silly, I know, but there it is.

I’m actually nervous about this. My first Halloween party. At my age. I really am ridiculous.

…………………………….
Today I am grateful for: Improv Everywhere for bringing the funny when I really need it.
Today’s funny moment: The Best Buy prank
Sad moment: realizing limitations
Protocol: n/a
Water: 4 liters
Corset: n/a
Hood: 1 hour

2 thoughts on “Of mascara and sea urchins

Please offer your thoughts

