Fitness Journal: Day 24

Prompt: How do you feel about the “pro-ana” and “thinspo” community of weight loss on tumblr?

(Confession time: I had to look up thinspo.)

People are going to seek out others to make them feel as if they are not alone, as if what they do is acceptable, the norm, etc. Everyone wants to feel good about who they are and how they live their lives. This applies if they are anorexic or sadists or leather lovers or balloon enthusiasts or binge eaters.

I freely admit that there are times when I wish I could go through my days eating whatever I want to get happy, and then vomit it back out so my addiction wouldn’t be evident on my waistline/ass/thighs.

Thinking rationally, I recognize this would only be trading one addiction for another. There is part of me that says it’s a darn good thing I hate to throw up. This is the same part that says it’s a good thing alcohol tastes so vile.

I don’t think the presence of the above mentioned communities makes a significant difference one way or another.

2 thoughts on “Fitness Journal: Day 24

  1. I don’t support any kind of eating disorders, not on tumblr or in real life. Refusing to eat/practicing the principle of “scarf and barf” isn’t healthy, is not something I condone. I want to lose weight, yes, but I don’t want to see an 85-lb grown woman walking down 5th Avenue, passing every restaurant because she “feels fat” and instead heading for a high end handbag shop.

  2. I should also say that what I did when I was much younger was also not healthy. When I was ten years old, my maternal grandfather raped me. After, I wanted to make sure he never touched me again…I never told anyone what he did because he said if I did, he would rape my two younger sisters. I wanted, after he did that to me, to get so fat that he would never touch me again. And it worked. By the time I was 15, I was so fat, the old buzzard wouldn’t speak to me except to say I needed to get “more skinny”, not that I took orders from him. But fattening myself up so the family member who raped me won’t do it again is unhealthy the same way anorexia is unhealthy in that there’s unhealthy thinking behind it, and we (as women) shouldn’t be victims of that sort of unhealthy thinking.

Please offer your thoughts

