One of those days

As I sat down to finish cutting and marking my pinned pieces, I realized it had been more than 24 hours since I had touched this project. Twenty-four hours and I wasn’t flipping out. This gave me pause. I thought for a moment and came to the realization that this was the first project that I was doing just for fun. I wasn’t on a time table. No one was lurking over my shoulder wanting to know how it was going. The learning curve was the reason for this project not an obstacle to push through in order to meet a dead line. When lunchtime loomed and my stomach said “Hey, how ’bout it?”, my brain did not scream “Ain’t nobody got time for that!” instead my stomach was greeted with “Sure, let’s have a little something.”

20160208_134841.jpg

A little something.

Thus fortified, I began the assembly process. It did not go well. It’s a good thing I had that fortification.

“Stitch center back neck and panel seam edges of back and side back sections.”

That was my first line of instructions. (Is it just me, or does that look like algebra? If Johnny has 3 watermelons how tall is his shadow at noon? Purple.) It sounds worse than it is. I knew what they were talking about and so I began. About 45 minutes later my pieces were beginning to look like something and that something was a hot mess.

20160208_142125.jpg

Something is rotten in Denmark.

I was all proud of myself at this point. The curve of the waist is showing nicely. The edges are lining up well, in spite of all the redrawing of the pattern. Woohoo, right? No. Not so much. I’ve done so many things wrong by this point it’s absurd. (Only a couple of which I knew about when I took this picture.) It would seem I had never sewed in my life. I was not drinking. I almost wish I had been, at least then I would have had an excuse.

All of the seams in the above photo had to be ripped out. The side seams were done on the wrong side. They should be visible, as is the center seam shown above. Yeah, about that center seam … isn’t it pretty? Beautifully matched, evenly stitched, and absolutely, unequivocally wrong. That seam is where the back zipper goes. I was supposed to sew below the tailor tack. Instead, I sewed above the tailor tack. Essentially, I wasted the entire morning.

I ripped out everything I had done and sewed it the way I should have done the first time. That’s okay this is why I do mock-ups, so I can make all (we hope) of my mistakes on cheap-ish canvas. Unfortunately, when I get to rippin’, I get to rippin‘. I ran my seam ripper right through the fabric and then had to repair it. Not a big deal and it was in keeping with the Let’s Do Everything Twice theme of the day.

20160208_144219

After I fixed my many blunders, I worked out the exposed zipper for the back. I like the look of it except for the very bottom. I decided that if this ever makes it to leather I’m going to special order a two-way, full length zipper that will run from neck to ankle and will be sexy as all get out.

20160208_155743

Oh, the yumminess of the exposed zipper!

Because I was so intimidated by the learning curve of adapting the multi sized pattern, I seriously considered cutting and assembling a single size and then altering the finished garment. I’m very glad that I made alterations on the pattern instead of during fittings. It’s pretty clear, even at this stage, that I’m going to have to do something about the waist. The material already seems stressed and there’s no body in it yet. I’m considering installing a waist tape, though I haven’t the first clue how to do so. I’m going to see how it performs when it’s complete. I may retrofit the waste tape.

There’s no hurry. I have plenty of time to decide. Isn’t that wonderful?

 

Please offer your thoughts

